Raw Week: Planning, Shopping, and Prep Day…

February 23, 2010 at 8:28 pm 3 comments

I have decided to dedicate this week to discovering raw food!  It’s an experiment that I’ve wanted to attempt for a long time…I’ve read a lot about the lifestyle- its supporters, and its critics.  My hunch is that doing this in Canada is a lot different than doing this in California (where so many raw food “uncookbooks” come from).  But as an early spring is blossoming here in vancouver, it just feels like the perfect time to do some inner spring cleaning.  On with the experiment, I say!

Here are the things I am most curious about:

1. How will I feel physically? (energy levels, appetite, weight loss, appearance)

2. How will I feel?  (emotionally, spiritually)

3. How will the meals taste?

4. Is it practical for me?

5. Can I afford it?

Sunday was my preparation day for Raw Week, so I hit up Whole Foods because I wanted to do it right and treat myself to as much organic produce as possible.  I may have over-shopped a little (I had to call a cab to help me carry groceries!), so I won’t know until the end of the week if this is really what a raw food weekly budget looks like.  The fuel:

Veggies: celery, sweet corn, collard greens, green cabbage, zucchini, fennel, broccoli, grape tomatoes*, spinach, avocados*, golden beets

Mushrooms: shiitake, portobello, crimini

Spice: japanenos, Anaheim chili peppers

Fruit: bananas, limes*, blood oranges, navel oranges

Herbs: lime leaves*, lemongrass*, oregano, thyme, basil, cilantro, turmeric root

Nuts: raw almond butter, brazil nuts

Grains: raw steel cut oats

Sea Vegetables: Kelp Noodles! (not from Whole Foods…found them at Organic Lives)

Total: $85. 96 (*non-organic)

Luckily, I have squirreled away quite the nut and seed cache back home, otherwise, this bill could have easily pushed $100.  Nuts and seeds are definitely the most expensive thing for vegans/vegetarians/raw foodists.  Bulk beans and lentils are dirt cheap, so usually they are my protein buddies of choice.  But unless I want to sprout my chickpeas, I’m outta luck this week…going to have to live high on the hog…er, cashew.  I also already possess several raw-foodie staples like hempseeds, flaxseeds, and agave nectar.  I’m just going to call this week 99% raw, because I couldn’t find any raw nori (mine is toasted), and it is almost impossible to find unpasturized almonds in North America (not to mention prohibitively expensive!) Also, I’m using tamari because my ex-boyfriend has my Braggs Liquid Aminos.  (I gave it to him…but I want it back if you are reading, lol!)

I hear a lot of people talk about how expensive it is to eat raw…so I think that it will be a good idea to keep tabs on all my receipts and see how things add up.  I haven’t really paid much attention to my food budget lately, but my best guess is that on my typical (30% rawish vegan diet) it is somewhere between $50-$70 per week.  So I guess that means that so far, I am about $25 over my weekly average…not too bad…we’ll see. I might have tons of leftovers for next week, or have to make multiple grocery trips…time will tell.

[EDIT: by the way, I have some excellent company with Raw Week- I'm joining with Happy Herbivore via Twitter, you should totally check out her blog- it's great!  I'm waking up with some great recipes in my inbox from her and some of the other lovely Tweeters in our posse!]

Stay tuned for my Raw Week Day 1 posting!  It should follow pretty hot on the heels of this post….

Peace and veggies,

Laurakins

Entry filed under: raw. Tags: .

Finally got my paws on some Daiya “cheese”! Raw Week, Day 1: Wow.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Happy Herbivore  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    this is a wonderful post — I have the same exact questions and curiosities as you– I’m so glad we’re doing this together.

    I lived in CA for a while — and let me say its so much easier to be raw, when produce is cheap and in season year round… here in NYC avocados can be $2 a pop, but they were practically given away for free in LA.

    Reply
  • 2. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  February 23, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    I know a lot of people like to think of food in terms of cost/calorie but I really do think it’s better to think about cost/nutrient. I understand that it’s easier said than done for people who don’t have a lot of money to live on, but sometimes you have to look at the bigger picture. Pay for food now, or pay for medical bills later.

    Reply
    • 3. laurakins  |  February 24, 2010 at 1:47 am

      that is definitely the realization that I’m coming to grips with…hopefully by the end of this experiment I will have some more perspective on that very subject!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

laurakins

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

