Raw Week, Day 2: oatmeal nostalgia, the loss of a dear creamer, and humiliated zucchinis

February 24, 2010 at 6:22 am 11 comments

I had a heck of a time waking up for school when I was younger.  From an early age,  I fell deeply in love with the luxurious feeling of still being in bed, wrapped in a warm embrace of cotton, flannel, and the occasional sleeping kitty cat, while my mom busily prepared for the day, and while my sister busily used up the hot water supply.  I pretended to be slumbering, even for the pure joy of hearing a symphony of hair driers, pots and pans, dog barks, and (in all honesty) the rather sophisticated crescendo of threats uttered from my mother that I should seriously consider getting out of bed.  Eventually, I would have to get up, and more often than not, there would be a (now rather cold) pot of porridge on the stove waiting for me.

Porridge is fascinating.  It’s relatively simple to make, but the little variations and tiny nuances from family to family are what make it really endearing.  When I was sick and couldn’t go to school, my mom would take me to my babysitter Nora’s house, where she would make me a smooth porridge drizzled with honey and skim milk.  When I stayed overnight at my Grandma’s house, I would wake up to the most decadent delight: huge, hearty oats mashed with dark brown sugar and coated with what must have been sweetened condensed milk.  On the weekends at my stepfamily’s house, porridge was generally avoided by the entire clan- a gluey, tasteless, and rather unjoyous event.  (Now that I think about it, probably lacking in salt…)  And finally, on camping trips with Daddy, a variety of packets of instant flavored oatmeal that my sister and I would fight over (“Laura, your hogging all the Peaches and Cream!”).

I never noticed until I was much older, but all those years my mom made porridge for us girls, she never had any herself.  I asked her why, and she said she didn’t care for it.  When I asked why she made it for Sarah and I all those years, she said, “because my mom made it for me.”  I don’t know why, but I just think that is absolutely beautiful.

Well folks, you guessed it.  Even Oatmeal can be done raw.

*The English lexicographer Samuel Johnson, famously wrote in A Dictionary of the English Language that the oat was "a grain, which in England is generally given to horses, but in Scotland supports the people", to which the Scottish response is "and England has the finest horses, and Scotland the finest men". *

I was skeptical, but this was really quite good!  All you need to do is remember to soak your oat groats overnight, and then it comes together really fast in the morning.

Regular oatmeal is heat-processed to stabilize the grain and keep it from going rancid.  Then the oats are rolled into the flake shape that we all know and love.  On the other hand, groats are the original raw, unprocessed version.  As such, they retain more nutrients than their flake buddies.

*If you prefer a smoother oatmeal, just blend it before adding your fruit. I like my oatmeal with lots of texture*

Raw Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal Porridge

  • 1 C oat groats, soaked overnight (I used Bob’s Red Mill Scottish Oatmeal, since it is already ground down- though you may want to blend it further.)
  • 1/2 an apple, diced small
  • pinch salt
  • dash cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • a few juicy raisins (if they are dry, you can soak them with the groats)

In the morning: If using whole groats, blend them up in the food processor until desired consistency (I skipped this step since mine were already ground).  Season with spices, salt and apple.  Serve with maple syrup (Grade B is raw), agave nectar, or as is.  Enjoy with Almond-Date Milk.

This post is dedicated to this cute little creamer, which I dropped on my concrete floor moments after this photo was taken. Sigh.

This was a really yummy breakfast, and it did its job too, as it stuck to my ribs for a good 3 hours before I felt hungry anymore.  With the fresh apple and the sweetness from the dates in the almond milk, I forgot the maple syrup and didn’t even notice!

***

For Lunch, I dug out my spiralizer, and made some Zucchini Spaghetti!

And you thought the meat industry was cruel...

I love this thing! It works best with fatter zucchinis, though, so the noodles ended up being a little on the shorter side…

I whipped up a cashew pesto sauce, and Bam! A 3 minute meal!

I found even a small portion of this to be really satisfying.  The pesto was really yummy, but I’m going to tinker with it a little and lighten it up a bit.  Jeez, that was a lot of nuts!

***

For dinner, I was craving some serious greens after such a heavy lunch, so I thought it would be a good time to tackle collard green wraps.  I just love cooked collards, but I was pretty uncertain of eating them raw.  I took a little bite off a leaf and wondered if I would be able to get past the really grassy bitter taste….Boy, did I ever!  Amazingly, the collard green taste was overwhelmed by a feista of other punchy flavors!

The pictures are terrible, but this was actually my most favorite meal today!

I made a “collard green burrito” with avocado, cashew cheese, red pepper, carrots, and corn.  It was amazing!!  I’m going to work on this recipe a bit more, before I post it- It needs to be beautified a little more and perhaps rolled more securely…anyway, I’d be happy to eat one of these every day for the rest of my life!

Oh, and a word about the corn:  I made a mistake and assumed that frozen corn is also raw.  (I really don’t know my frozen vegetables very well) I didn’t realize this fact until I defrosted them, and I wasn’t going to let them go to waste…so when I say I am 99% raw this week, this would be an example of my 1% wiggle room.

(And I’m glad I followed through, cause it was d e l i c i o u s.)

All in all, another very yummy day over here.  In addition to being really fast to prepare, I am also noticing that I had very few dishes to clean- just a bowl, a plate, a food processor, and a couple odds and ends….leaving more time to….blog?

Entry filed under: raw. Tags: .

Raw Week, Day 1: Wow. Raw Week, Day 3: Stuffed Anaheim Peppers, an Entire Raw Onion, and a little heartburn, quite frankly.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  February 25, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Ooooh that spiralizer looks so cool!

    What was in your cashew pesto?

    Reply
    • 2. laurakins  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      Basil, Cashews, garlic, salt, olive oil….But hang tight because I’m going to make it slimmer :)

      Reply
  • 3. kathy  |  February 25, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Your raw diet so far looks wonderful!!
    Love the stories too!!
    ciao

    Reply
  • 4. Happy Herbivore  |  February 25, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    that oatmeal recipe is from Raw Food Made Easy — I’m not sure if you can repost it on your blog since it’s from her copyrighted book, but at least give her cred for her genius idea!

    Reply
    • 5. laurakins  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      Hi Lindsay, I appreciate your concern about copyright… I’ve spent a bit of time in the past researching “the rules” regarding recipes and here is why I felt very comfortable posting this recipe without reference:

      1. Porridge is a very basic food. Its ingredients are obvious.

      2. Although the technique of soaking the oats is unexpected, It isn’t novel, as I have seen raw porridge recipes using the same technique by multiple authors/bloggers. So I would say that nobody really “owns” this idea (can an idea be owned?)

      3. Furthermore, and probably most importantly, I adapted the proportions and seasonings to my taste, to be identical to the cooked version I make for myself on a regular basis. It may share a great likeness with the recipe from “Raw Foods Made Easy”, but the simplicity of porridge is what makes it …well, porridge.

      Essentially, I’ve been making this porridge recipe for years, only in this cooked version:

      [put oats in pot, dash salt, dash nutmeg, dash cinnamon, add water, cook on low, stir in apple]

      My only regret is that I did not give you a shout-out for reminding me of this great breakfast idea….oops!

      Laura

      Reply
  • 6. Lauren  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Love that porridge!! Looks great, enjoy!!

    Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  February 28, 2010 at 12:56 am

    The zucchini spaghetti looks delicious. Where did you get your spiralizer? I’d love to make some.

    Reply
    • 8. laurakins  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:01 am

      Heather! Nice to see you :)

      I got the spiralizer downtown at Gorilla Foods, but they also sell them at Organic Lives on 2nd and Quebec (about $35-45)

      It’s really fun! Highly recommend.

      xox!

      ps- really like the layout of your blog- is it part of the Twitter framework?

      Reply
  • 9. Heather  |  February 28, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Hi Laura :) Thanks for the tip. I just ate at Gorilla Food for the first time last week. I and my companion nearly passed out from the deliciousness. There was a chocolatey shake in particular that was especially awesome.

    (Thanks–I just used one of the Tumblr templates; minimal tweaking to customize the size of the columns and stuff in order to post larger pictures.)

    Sorry about the loss of your creamer, by the way. It looks pretty!

    Reply
  • 10. Raw Week, Day 4: Amazing grazings… « Home Veganomics  |  February 28, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    [...] Here was a quick little zucchini snack I made using up the pesto from Day 2 … [...]

    Reply
  • 11. DiningAndDishing  |  March 10, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    RAW oats!? I like oatmeal of all kinds so I kinda think this needs to be the next version I try!! :)

    - Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

laurakins

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

