Raw Week, Day 4: Amazing grazings…

February 28, 2010 at 7:42 pm 4 comments

This morning I woke up at the crack of dawn for a dental appointment, only to show up and find out that I had the date wrong.  I was pretty relieved.  (In my books, any day you don’t have to go to the dentist is a good day.)  As luck would have it, the clinic was within a couple blocks of Whole Foods, so I picked up some extra lemons and avocados, two things which are somehow implicated in almost every raw recipe I’ve seen.  (Now if only I could find a cheaper source of organic avocados…)

I hadn’t had breakfast yet, so I did a little dance on the inside when I saw this:

Perfect!

I don’t think I’ve ever had asparagus, jicama, or brussels sprouts for breakfast before, but it worked for me!  (They had a fresh fruit buffet, too)

When I returned home, I made a whole bunch of collard green wraps, packed with red pepper, nut cheese, avocado.  I never would have expected that these would be so good…and addictive!  (I think it’s kind of ironic that the meal I am enjoying the most is the least photogenic, but I am determined to get some good photos once I buy a new batch of collards!)

Here was a quick little zucchini snack I made using up the pesto from Day 2

In the afternoon, I discovered some perfectly ripe pears on the windowsill that I had nearly forgotten about…It took the opportunity to treat myself and my traveling massage therapist friend to a Ginger & Pear Spinach Smoothie:

Some fruit/herb combinations are just classic.  Like Strawberry & Mint, and Blueberry & Lemon Zest,  Pear and Ginger definitely belong together, too!

Pear & Ginger Spinach Smoothie:

  • 2 ripe pears
  • small chunk grated ginger
  • handful of spinach
  • cover with almond milk
  • dash nutmeg

For dinner, my friend and I finally checked out Organic Lives, a 100% organic, raw vegan eatery and supply store just 5 blocks from me!  We ordered a ton of food, but ate most of it before remembering to take photographs.  Luckily, I managed to snap some quick shots, in between bites, of our two favorites:

This raw sushi had fresh sprouts in place of rice, and had a dipping sauce made out of unpasturized tamari mixed with ginger and something else….wasabi?  horseradish?  It was sooo good!  Like a flavor bomb.  It was so good, I bought some raw organic nori sheets, so I can start making raw sushi at home!

And then there was dessert…

TiRAWmisu! Possibly the best dessert I have ever had in my life.  Period.  I need to find out how to make this, or something like this, stat!

One of the nicest things about Organic Lives is that everyone who works there is friendly, knowledgeable, and very happy to talk about anyone about the restaurant, the ingredients, and raw food in general.  We spent a few minutes chatting with Preet, the owner, who told me that the philosophy behind what they serve is simple: “If I don’t eat it, I won’t serve it.”  For that reason, Preet doesn’t use agave nectar, nama shoyu, cashews, or Braggs Essential Amino Acids.   All things that are pretty standard among most raw foodists.  I asked him why, and he shared with me a wealth of information that I will probably spend hours googling to re-confirm.  I wish I had been taking notes!  If you are ever in the neighborhood, you’ve got to check this place out! The atmosphere is pretty casual, but the food is fabulous, the service is warm, and the philosophy behind the restaurant is noble.  Even the water they serve is delicious!

Here is their menu

Man, all this food blogging is making me hungry! Time for lunch…

Entry filed under: raw, smoothies. Tags: , , .

Raw Week, Day 3: Stuffed Anaheim Peppers, an Entire Raw Onion, and a little heartburn, quite frankly. Raw Week, Days 5 and 6: Like Minds

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 1, 2010 at 3:37 am

    Oh wow. That tiramisu looks phenomenal!!

    I like the idea of sprouts instead of rice in the sushi.

    Reply
  • 2. Paul  |  March 2, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    First off, great photos! And great writing….I see a book deal in your future!

    And let me just say, the sight of that raw food bar was like a shot of espresso. I’m so energized by those colors….maybe it’s the artist in me (in all of us).

    Man…I miss Vancouver for that very reason. Fortunately there are some good organic options in Kamloops. But I’ve yet to discover a raw/org/veg eatery.

    Keep it up!! You’re an inspiration :-)

    Reply
  • 3. nouna  |  January 21, 2013 at 12:38 am

    I need this Tirawmisu recipe :C

    Reply
  • 4. keith urban pictures  |  October 9, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    keith urban pictures

    Raw Week, Day 4: Amazing grazings… | Home Veganomics

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

laurakins


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

