Raw Week, Days 5 and 6: Like Minds

March 2, 2010 at 10:33 pm 17 comments

Day 5:

Today I cheated a bit.  I’m a member of a really awesome veg group that meets up twice a month at various restaurants for delicious vegan meals….I could have un-RSVP’d myself, but I really wanted to catch up with my veg buddies, and since raw week is more of an experiment than a die-hard cleanse, I allowed myself some wiggle room.  Plus, sitting down with like minded people and sharing a meal is just plain good for the soul.

Here we are! This was a smaller lunch gathering- mostly people who work from home, like me.  (At dinner meet-ups, there are usually 30-50 of us!)

I managed to persuade several group members to follow me to the T&T in Chinatown after the meal, in search of kimchi and burdock root.  (I finally found burdock root after 6 months of searching!)  I spent another $40 on groceries,  bringing my weekly grocery bill up to $146.00.

Groceries: beansprouts, kimchi, thai chilis, burdock root, carrots, bok choi, scallions, wakame, asparagus, green tea, kombu

As I walked my groceries home, I beheld one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen:

...um, not the pulled beef bit...lower.

VEGAN MAC AND CHEESE! 3 blocks from where I live!  Praise Quinoa, this must be another Daiya miracle!  I was briefly tempted to write today off entirely in terms of eating raw, since I had already broken the rules once…  However, I felt pretty sleepy after all the sushi rice and veggie teriyaki, so I knew that I needed to get back on track…

With some RAW sushi!  I was excited to use my new organic, raw nori sheets, and since I was finally  in possession of burdock root, all the stars in my universe aligned to bring forth Ani Phyo’s “Ginger Almond Nori Rolls.”  Highly recommended.  I threw in an avocado to make them even more delicious!  I also staged a repeat performance of her “Miso Mushroom Soup.” C’est magnifique!

Day 6

After cheating a little bit yesterday, I felt the need to start my day on the raw straight and narrow.  What better way that at Sejuiced in Kitsilano?  I had a delicious smoothie and a raw apricot almond bar.  Yum :)

For lunch I whipped up a Blended Garden Gazpacho:

1. juice a carrot and a small beet

2. In blender, add carrot/beet juice, 3 tomatoes, 3 stalks of celery, a bit of chopped oregano,  1/2 of an avocado, and a dash of salt to taste.

SO GOOD.

Day 6′s dinner was the highlight of my raw week.  Through the magic of the internet, I went to a Raw Vegan Prepluck! What is a raw prepluck, you ask?  It is best described by this formula:  10 strangers + raw food + 1 kitchen  = delicious feast and 10 new friends!  It was awesome.  We all showed up at 4pm with ingredients and a recipe we wanted to share, took turns using the VitaMix and the food processor, et voila- a feast was ready at 7pm…  here we are:

chopping and rolling station...

the lineup for the VitaMix...just kidding. The nice thing was everybody helped each other out, so all of our recipes became very social!

It was dark, so I couldn’t get the best photos…but you can see my Pad Thai from Day 1 in the bottom left corner… (Big hit!)  The questionable-looking brown substance in the middle of the shot was actually one of the best soups I’ve ever had. The rolls in the bottom right corner were made out of a zucchini/flax mixture that was dehydrated into flexible sheets, and then rolled with a cashew cream, lettuce, and served with a sundried tomato sauce. Dear God, it was delicious!  There was also some mind-blowing salads and a exquisite cranberry dessert, not to mention amazing, juicy, and local walnuts that we cracked ourselves. Oh!  And a mad cacao-coconut shake that was deliciously reminiscent of a Wendy’s Frostie!

We said grace, passed around each dish one at a time, and we each said a little something about what we made. Beautiful!

Some people were experienced raw food gurus, others were flirting raw newbies, like me.  It was a wonderful mix!  I learned a TON of info about raw foods, especially this:

  • Always soak nuts 24 hours before using.  Mother Nature has endowed nuts and seeds with enzyme inhibitors, so that when a bird eats it, the bird can then fly away, poop, and when hits the ground, the moisture from the soil breaks the enzyme inhibitor, similar to soaking it. It starts sprouting and germinating to create a new plant.  So we should soak the seeds overnight and rinse them very well to wash away these inhibitors.  (Makes sense why my tummy hurt after all of the nuts I ate on Day 3!)

I stuffed myself full of so much delicious food, but I still felt energetic and vibrant in the evening- It was probably close to midnight when I got home, but I had so much excess energy, I cleaned the kitchen! (A feat never witnessed at that hour).

I’m so glad I went to this!  I was a bit apprehensive about meeting up with a whole bunch of stangers for dinner, but this I will tell you: Raw Foodists are anything but cold!

I asked a few of the Rawluck-ers to share their recipes with Home Veganomics, so stay tuned for some seriously delicious posts in the future!

Namaste :)

Laura

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Raw Week, Day 4: Amazing grazings… Well, This is Awkward…

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. damon  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    i feel so… so used!

    re mac ‘n’ cheese:

    http://www.usrbin.ca/damon/food/macaroniandnocheese.html

    i’m always suprised that this accidental recipe works so well.

    Reply
    • 2. laurakins  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:17 am

      awesome! I can see how this would be good :D

      Reply
  • 3. Paul  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Raw-lucking! It’s, like, a triple entendre. Very hard to come by.

    I’m jealous and once again inspired. Perhaps I’ll have to arrange my own social event. A green puree soiree? That’s the best I could come up with…

    Reply
    • 4. laurakins  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:18 am

      You should totally do one in Kamloops! And skype in with the Vancouver group :)

      Reply
  • 5. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:10 am

    I love the raw prepluck idea. Where did you find out about that?

    Reply
    • 6. laurakins  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:20 am

      Check out Meetup.com for your area…I am a member of a vegan supper club, as well as a raw food group. Look for groups that have frequent meetups, and get notifications every time an event is planned. SO FUN!

      Reply
  • 7. Olivia  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:56 am

    This all looks so amazing! I’m eager to hear your plans for burdock. I quick-cooked it with some spices and put it in spring rolls once, but was not impressed. Kimchi, on the other hand, is one of the greatest things known to man. Do you plan to eat it plain? Or put it in bigger recipes?

    Reply
    • 8. laurakins  |  March 3, 2010 at 3:32 am

      Haha, the kimchi is mostly for your kimchi soup recipe, which I am eager to dive into once raw week is finished :)

      http://olivialindquist.com/blog/?p=577

      I actually put the burdock in the raw sushi…it was really good :) Next week I am especially looking forward to making a kinpira with it!

      xox

      Reply
  • 9. ani phyo  |  March 3, 2010 at 8:00 am

    thanks for the mention in your post and the great photos! and for enjoying my recipe. my next book will be out in less than a month on April 1. Ani’s Raw Food Essentials. it’s my first hard cover and it’s huge with over 250 recipes. I hope you’ll enjoy it. thanks again.

    Reply
  • 10. laurakins  |  March 3, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    The Ani? Wow!! I’m honoured.

    Thanks for stopping by :) I used Raw Food Kitchen almost exclusively for Raw Week, and ate very, very well!

    Thanks for doing what you do :D

    Laurakins

    Reply
  • 11. Kaitlin  |  March 7, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Hello!

    Just found your blog and love it – I’m a fellow Vancouverite eating and living a somewhat vegan-based lifestyle!
    I’ve seen a couple tempting dishes on that wallflower sign before but never the mac and cheese, I must try it out

    Reply
    • 12. laurakins  |  March 7, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      nice to meet you :) Maybe I’ll bump into you at the Wallflower?

      Reply
  • 13. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday  |  March 10, 2010 at 2:58 am

    Nominated you for a creative blogger! Check out my most recent post :)

    Reply
  • 14. Christopher  |  April 5, 2010 at 1:29 am

    After hearing you live close to the Wallflower I thought I’d pipe in… you can actually get burdock not far from where you live without having to go to T&T or Fujiya.

    The Chinese veg market right beside the Broadway Cambie skytrain station sells the roots for $1 a piece, sometimes even 3 for $2. Best deal on burdock I’ve ever had and it’s almost always in stock.

    Since I’m macrobiotic, kinpira has been a mainstay for me for awhile. The following recipe works well for me, except I omit the sugar: kinpira recipe

    Reply
    • 15. laurakins  |  April 5, 2010 at 5:08 am

      This is so, so helpful! (Both the recipe and the cheap burdock source)

      The first time I had kinpira was at Ping’s Cafe on Main Street…so good. I tried to make it myself from memory, but it wasn’t quite the same. Thanks for passing on the recipe- sounds delicious!

      Strangely enough, I was just at the Wallflower today having a go at their vegan mac n’ cheese…and this eve I experimented with my own version to realize that they must be using the cheddar Daiya, and not the mozza type that I have….

      Are you in the Main Street neighborhood, too? Thanks for commenting!

      Reply
      • 16. Christopher  |  April 6, 2010 at 2:37 am

        I live a few blocks off Main & 10th so definitely appreciate any local gems you bring to my attention (like the vegan mac n’ cheese)…

        I’ve yet to go into the Wallflower but now I plan to keep my eyes peeled for when it’s a special again…

        Found your blog through Veg Meetup… keep up the good work, perhaps we’ll swap recipes in person some day…

  • 17. Katherine: What About Summer?  |  June 4, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    that raw sushi looks amazing! feel free to be my chef ANY time

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

laurakins


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

