Sick Boyfriend Red Lentil Stew

August 12, 2009 at 8:10 pm 4 comments

sick boyfriend red lentil stew

My boyfriend picked up a nasty cold when he went to visit his family in Edmonton last week, and I’ve successfully managed to contain him here for 3 days to recover (I don’t want him to bust a lung biking home just yet).  I’ve been feeding him lots of fruit salad (papaya, mango, melon) and herbal tea.  For last night’s dinner, I summoned the god of leftovers and made one of the most memorable soups we’ve ever had.  It was so good!  Like a thick and hearty mild curry dahl stew.  You could add chickpeas or spinach to this at the end if you wanted to make it even more substantial, or a jalapeno if you wish! But wow- it was good!

Sick Boyfriend Red Lentil Stew

~makes 2 hefty servings

  • 1 large onion
  • 1 Tbs oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, minced
  • 3 small carrots, chopped
  • 1 1/2 C cabbage, coarsely chopped (two 1/2 inch thick cabbage “coins”, chopped)
  • 1 C. red lentils
  • 4-5 C. Veggie Stock (or water with veg bouillion cube)
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 Tbs cumin
  • 1 C. leftover rice
  • 2 good tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/3 C. fresh cilantro, chopped
  • sea salt to taste
  1. Saute onions in oil until translucent, add garlic and let cook 20 seconds.  Add carrots, ginger, cabbage and red lentils.  Cover with veggie broth/water so that the veggies are covered by an inch of liquid (about 4-5 cups).  Stir in cumin and turmeric (no salt yet).  Cover and simmer on medium heat for about 15 minutes, or until red lentils are tender.
  2. Remove from heat, stir in rice, tomatoes, cilantro, and season with sea salt to taste.
  3. Cover and let sit for 3 minutes before serving.  Enjoy!

I wish I would have snapped a picture of this. [EDIT: just did!]  It was such a beautiful golden yellow colour and by adding the tomato and cilantro at the end their colours (and tastes) stay vibrant.  Since I finally have a table now (lime green circa 1975!), we lit a candle and gazed into our soups- it is so nice to sit down on something other than the couch for once!

Entry filed under: Soups.

the picture pretty much sums it up.. Eating for $3/meal, Week 1:

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ¡Yo Soy Liz!  |  August 17, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    My apartment has no space for a table, it drives me CRAZY. I hate eating on the couch, so I usually end up cooking at my house (where I have all my tools and ingredients) and then end up carting dinner all the way to my boyfriend’s apartment just so we can sit at his table.

    Reply
    • 2. laurakins  |  August 18, 2009 at 1:42 am

      I know!! I totally underestimated the importance of a flat surface!

      Eating on the couch is just so sacreligeous after pouring your soul into a dinner!

      Reply
  • 3. Jessica  |  August 18, 2009 at 1:31 am

    I am always looking for new, simple, great tasting recipes this is one of them! I absolutely adore this stew. I made mine with millet instead of rice (it’s what I had on hand) and it was simply devine. In fact, the recipe made enough for quite a few lunches/dinners this week. Next time I make this dish I may add some garbanzo beans or spinach or maybe some butternut squash chunks or…

    Reply
    • 4. laurakins  |  August 18, 2009 at 1:44 am

      Thanks for the feedback, darling 😉 I am totally making this again tonight- LOVE the idea of the butternut squash btw!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

laurakins


